In-betweens and 1st’s for 2012

Yesterday I did a quick 30 min uphill walk on the TM followed by my strength training workout.

I have found that if I try to run every other day I end up limping in pain don’t do so well. Cardio-wise I am usually fine, but my quads and shins are usually so sore that I can’t keep going for fear of injury. However if I put at least two (three is ideal) days in between runs, I seem to do much better. Problem is, my laziness schedule doesn’t always warrant being so precise in my workouts and/or I just dont get in as many run workouts as I would like during the week.

I figured I could work to solve this problem by inserting heavy uphill walks in between the running workouts so I can get a good cardio workout in without destroying my legs in the process. I also figure this is a good idea as I attempt to transition to running outside instead of on a treadmill. I know there are like a billion more benefits to running outside as opposed to the snoozefest of a treadmill, but honestly, running outside intimidates me. The gently rolling massive hills. The fact that the pavement doesn’t move along like a treadmill does? I mean honestly…it would be so much easier if it would just do that for me. The fact that I would FOR SURE get hit by a car. I mean its just so much safer inside a gym. Really. And where would I put my iPod, water bottle and towel? Sigh.

I will get there. I have to. Why you ask? (Ok, I know you didnt really ask, but work with me here)…

I am about to register for my first (of many) 5K’s for 2012!! Me and the hubs are gonna do it and my goal is to run the entire time. Even if it takes me an hour, I wanna keep running!! It’s only three measly little miles right?

How many days to you like to have between runs?

Have you signed up for any races yet in 2012?  

Leave a Reply

