Almost? and fancy running

Welcome to the gym in January!

It hasn’t been this busy since…well…last January.

I catch myself giving people the “I’ve been coming here for months, newbie” stare scoping people out and trying to guess who is a “get fit in (fill in the year)” person, but I can never tell. At the end of the day, they are still there, gettin their sweat on, first time or thousandth (that’s a word right?) and that’s all that matters, right? Look at me being all positive. Now stop hogging the treadmill. Thanks.

So I had one goal and one goal alone today.

Run 30 min. No stopping.

I ALMOST made it. Did a 5 min warm up and then ended up taking two one minute walk breaks before I got to 30 min. Everything was good (breathing, shins, feet, etc…) except I was having this weirdly awful pain that felt like knives were stabbing me in my lower back on the left. It pretty much stopped within 15 seconds of walking and took about three minutes to come back after I started running again.

I have had some lower back pain during running before, but this was really concentrated more on one side and was waaaaaayyyyyyy a little more intense than before. Any ideas, thoughts or suggestions on what this might be or how to make it never ever happen again?

By the time I finished out the 30 min I was at about 2.5, so I decided to do two quick sprints for a .10 of a mile to finish out. Finished everything in 44. That included the warm up and cool downs.

I had to be super stealth picture taker of both the first and last pic…it admittedly does feel weird to take pictures of things people wouldn’t normally take pictures of in public places. Its not like I can wear a sign around my neck that says “Its for the blog” explain to people what I am doing, so for now I just pretend I am a ninja and my only mission (should I choose to accept it, which I DO) is to take awesome blog pics.

not sure what that look is? Complacency? Exhaustion? Hunger? who knows...

I’m pretty sure someone was bending down to pick something behind me? That is why it looks like a butt is coming out of my ear. And btw’s…I didn’t wear the earrings to run. I’m not that fancy.

On a side note…I noticed one other funny thing that I do now when I’m at the gym, that I never did before…I’m constantly wondering “I wonder if that girl/guy has a blog?”

If you are a blogger, have you ever stared down strangers in an attempt to determine if they are also a blogger or am I just crazy?

Any weird, out of the blue aches and pains happen to you while running? 

Do you wear earrings to run? 

10 responses

  1. Lol. I know what you mean about taking pics in public. It’s funny at first. And now I (and my husband) are just totally used to it even if it’s super awkward sometimes. I only stealth if I’m taking a pic of a complete stranger for no apparent reason. Lol. And I always wear earrings when I run. Love that!

  2. Ive had a really bad pain in my left lower back before and it went away after a day or so. But I don’t know if it was the same thing. I blew ou my back in high school long jumping at a meet so…

    It always cracks me up all the people who swarm gyms in January. Give it a month and everything’s back to normal haha.

  3. Eeek! Good to stop when you feel pain like that. It just ain’t worth the injury! It is very interesting how January is full of people with good intentions that kind of fade after a little bit. People should start making resolutions in March, instead!

  4. Did you have enough water prior to the run? Was it muscular? Hummmm….. I wish I was there to show you this new lower back stretch I learned that is less muscular and more “neurological” (if that’s even the right way to explain it). I’ll call you.
    Always wear earings! Sometimes even the dangly kind.

Leave a Reply

