MR- Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol

Mission Impossible has always had a special place in my heart. It’s essentially my namesake. I wouldn’t be ME without it. But that is a story for another day.

I think I only saw the first two MI movies and then kind of lost interest in the third. BUT, when I saw the preview for this one, I will admit, I was kind of little kid excited about it. I might have even pulled on Paul’s sleeve and said, “can we go, can we go??? Pleeeeeasssseeee!!”

Not sure what it was that had me so excited, it just looked like a good time. Tom Cruise flying off of giant buildings in Dubai, cars flying over him as he lands on the ground, lovable Simon Peg doing something…well, lovable.

I was IN.

I highly enjoyed it. I don’t really remember anything that I particularly loved about the previous movies other than the neat tricks they do with face (like literal face) masks, but this one I would gladly see again.

Plot line? Eh. There are some bad guys that are gonna do some bad things, like blow up the whole world or something (I’m not kidding) and who is gonna stop them? TC thats who. And his new friend Jeremy Renner of recent Hurt Locker fame. Oh and don’t forget the pretty girl, Paula Patton and the funny sidekick guy, Simon Pegg. Mix in a dash of fun and a whole scoop full of fancy gadgets and toys and you have got yourself one non-stop action packed 133 minutes.

Oh and if you are a Lost fan, Sawyer is in it too. For the WIN!

The acting was fine, nothing to write home about and the action really was non-stop. Time flew by and almost left you wanting more. The best part (as with any movie that centers around secret intelligence and government spy groups) are the toys and gadgets and fancy schmancy cars and pens and lipsticks that they use to kill the bad guys. Just plain fun.

I don’t remember a lot of foul language, but of course there is a lot of violence, not the gratuitous kind, but still…people die.
2 responses

Leave a Reply

