Running in other countries…

….is unfortunatley NOT easier than running in the US. Bummer.

Hubs and I went on a little get away to Canada (or as we like to call it Cananannda) this weekend.

More on that later. First I want to tell you about my first run in another country.

We really wanted to get an outside run in before the 5k next weekend. What a great opportunity since the beautiful Stanley Park was just right down the road from where we were staying.

We found a nice loop around a lake inside the park that was just over a mile.

we ran around that three times

It was around 45 degrees and cloudy. We were just happy it wasn’t raining b/c it had rained pretty much all day the day before.  Glass half full.

Started out with a brief warm up walk and stretch. My real goal was to make it the first whole mile without stopping.

Check.

That was a milestone. Haven’t ever ran a whole mile without stopping outside running on “real” ground before. I was pumped.

2nd lap I ran about half and had to take a brief walk break to blow my nose. Then one more brief walk break before finishing up.

Paul was nice enough to basically walk with me the first two laps. He is so much taller than me (longer stride) and has been in the Army for like ever, so yeah he is just a tad bit stronger runner than me.

He took some pics while we were making our way around the lake.

very nice surface to run on although rather muddy from the day before rain

there were swans all over the place...dodged many a pile of green swan poop

Vancouver! Eh. or Aye. not sure how you spell it?

he was scared b/c I was chasing him and look at how fast I am!! he's a goner!

On the third lap we ran at our own pace. Paul finished the mile in like 8 min I think? Sheesh. Me= Jeally. Jeally= Jealous.

On the plus, he was able to get some pics of me finishing up.

here I come...blink and you might miss me!

pictures lie. I was totally running.

The third mile was around 14 min. Not bad considering I walked three times. Didn’t get a totally accurate time for the first two laps, but overall I am felt really good about my first 3 miles outside.

Pretty excited to see what happens at the 5k on Saturday!

all DONE and all smiles. Sweaty and sore, but still smiling

Have you ever run in another country?

What have you had to dodge while running?

8 responses

  1. What a pretty place to run! Congrats on running that first mile. Such a huge accomplishment. I love the during run pictures, priceless. And my boyfriend is 6-4 and he is nice and runs with me sometimes too. I always feel bad because I’m so slow.

    • I know I feel so bad. I love running with him, but I just don’t want to slow him down. I guess it will just have to be good motivation to get faster as time goes by and not stay where I am at!!

    • I def think that over time I will morph into an outdoor runner as well. I just need more confidence!! And thanks for the clarification on the EH? I have always wondered, now I know!! YAY!

  2. Pingback: Totally Terrible Tuesday | eat PRAY tri

  3. Pingback: “getting our Groupon” weekend | eat PRAY tri

Leave a Reply

