Snow Day round two

Well it happened. Woke up to about 6 inches of the white stuff. And it continued to snow most of the day.

This was my feeling about it on Twitter

For all of you who don’t know, MRE = Meals Ready to Eat. You know the ones all dehydrated in a bag like the astronauts use. I’ve never actually had one, and thanks to our Costco trip the other day hopefully it will stay that way.

Had to work from home again due to the snowpocalypse except the joke was on me today b/c Paul didn’t have to actually DO any work and Kyle got the day off from school. That will teach me. 

But seeing this in my email this morning brightened my day right up.

OVER 1000 bought!! Christmas shopping for 2012…DONE.

Still not feeling all that well so Alka Selzer cold with a side of kleenex was on the menu for the day. In additon to these yummy things:

Breakfast: 5 min steel cut oats with banana, blueberries, chia seeds and a dollop of chocolate dreams peanut butter.

Lunch: grilled cheese and turkey on sandwich thin, tomato soup and 2 cuties. Did you know cuties were for kids? I hate that commercial. I love cuties and should not be discriminated against just b/c I made it past 10 yrs old!

Threw the dogs in the snow and all they did was make yellow snow and then instantly  head back to the door. #partypoopers. Literally.

While I did some more work the boys warmed up and watched Tangled. TANGLED.

Chloe did some warming up too

Paul was super excited to get out and drive in the snow and scare the crap out of me drive safely to the gym. Managed to squeak out running one mile during my two mile workout on the T-mill. Mostly b/c it felt like I was swallowing knives. Hopefully I sweated (is that a word? no red line, so I’m guessing yes!) out all of the crud and will feel like not wanting to chop my head off a million bucks tomorrow.

The gym was DEAD. No one wanted to risk their life to get their workout in? Wussies. We are hardcore I guess. And by we I mean Paul.

Dinner was an awesome new recipe I found here. 

Cream Cheese Chicken Chili

1 can black beans
1 can corn, undrained
1 can Rotel, undrained
1 package ranch dressing mix
1 tsp cumin
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 8 oz package light cream cheese
2 chicken breastsDrain and rinse black beans. Place chicken at bottom of pot, then pour out whole can of corn (undrained), rotel, and black beans. Top with seasonings and ranch mix. Stir together. Place cream cheese on top. Cover with lid and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Stir cream cheese into chili. Use 2 forks to shred chicken. Stir together and serve.
Man oh man was it good. And soooo easy. Took me like 5 min to put it all together in the crock pot. It was a hit with the boys too. They all slurped it right up. I predict this will be come a staple in our newly formed household.
Paul whipped up these bad boys for dessert.
Lemon bars. Reason # 423 why I married him.
Would you risk your life in the snow to get your workout in? 
Do you have a shakeweight? 
9 responses

  1. Ye I would risk my life in snow to get my workout in. But then again.. I ain’t afraid of no snow. No contest. Yes I own a shake weight and yes it makes me a bad ass. I even did the 6 minute workout DVD that it comes with! Haha

    And yes I love your blog and read it religiously. 🙂

  2. I totes have a shakeweight and bought my dad one for xmas…best arm workout ever. We went to SouthCenter tonight. Apparently the mall closed at 4 & only one restaurant was open…nobody goes out in the snow except us crazies;)

    • No I don’t have one. 😦 Sadness. I brought one to a Christmas party one year for a gift exchange but didn’t end up with it at the end of the night! I need to try one out and see how it is. Sure does seem like fun!

  3. I can’t believe your little dogs actually wanted to go out in the snow!! And your cream cheese chili looks bomb! I just ate breakfast and now I’m craving some lunch. Good job on your workout! You’re rockin it!!

Leave a Reply

