I survived Bikram yoga

Well, I did it. I went to Bikram yoga and I lived to tell the story. Thank you for your prayers. 🙂

My besties Peggy and Marjan have been trying to convince me to go for.ev.er. Finally, a coupon arrived right in my emailbox thanks to a site called Bloomspot. 5 sessions for $30. My time had come to give in to the peer pressure. It was time to face my fears and get sweaty!!

Luckily I was well prepared. Peggy and Marjan gave the the full run down on what it would be like: TORTURE. Pure and simple. You will sweat like you have never sweated before. You might get dizzy, you might want to leave the room, you might want to puke. You probably won’t, but you might want to. I also had some other people fill me in on their experiences, which can be good and bad, but nonetheless, I was pretty freaked out about it. I even had a nightmare a few weeks ago. I get way to worked up about these things apparently.

I wasn’t too worried about the heat factor since I tend to like/do well with hot things. Some hot things I love:

1) my husband
2) showers (much to the annoyance of my hot husband)
3) food (green chile enchiladas and three star curry…YUM)
4) tubs
5) coffee and tea
6) dogs (j/k, sorry I couldn’t resist)

So needless to say, while I was worried about the 105 degree temp in the room it wasn’t my biggest worry. My biggest worry was that I have never done any sort of yoga before and what if I couldn’t do the poses or fell over or something from my complete utter lack of balance. Who wants to fall on their face in a room full of strangers? Not me. Even though I have done it numerous times in step class, it just doesn’t seem to get any easier.

Throughout the day, I made sure to hydrate like nobody’s business. Granted I drink a LOT of water anyway on a  regular basis, but today I made sure to stay totally on top of the hydration train to ensure I didn’t run out of good sweat during the session.

Water yoga

I also studied up on the 26 poses that we would be doing. Bikram yoga consists of the same 26 poses done in a 90 minute session. And the temperature in the room is around 105. Each pose is done twice. There are a series of standing and sitting poses.

PosesI’m not sure if stuyding up on the poses made me feel better or worse, but regardless, time was a tickin’ and it was time to go!

Peggy drove with me and we made our way to the studio (it was in a large building that I doubt I would have ever found on my own) and got all signed up. The instructor gave me a run down and told me my goal tonight was to just stay in the room. Don’t run out screaming. Oh boy.

I got changed and with my mat, towel and two buckets bottles of water, in we went. BOOM! The smell hits you pretty hard. It’s basically a hot room where 20+ people sweat their brains out in all day for hours on end and it smells exactly like you would imagine.

We sat in the room for a bit to get used to the heat. It wasn’t like sitting in a room of fire, so that was encouraging. I was kind of expecting more of a dry suffocating heat and it wasn’t like that, so I considered it a win.

The class itself was not near as bad as I was expecting. I actually think it was good that I was almost over prepared for it. I wasn’t really surprised by anything. I was certainly impressed with just how much you sweat. I was also impressed with the fact that my heart could beat so fast just from basically laying on the ground. Weird.

I was able to do most of the poses and of course some of them I did like a “lower” version of the pose, not the full out thing. Some of them where you had to grab your feet were tough b/c my hands and legs/feet were so sweaty that my hands just slipped off and I couldn’t get a good grip.

These are the ones I couldn’t really do.

Yoga poses2

I was able to do the laying down one really well. 😉
I found that on some of them where you have to sit on your legs, my toes instantly cramped up to the point where I couldn’t sit like that at all. Had to go cross legged instead.

By the end, I was pretty ready to be done. I didn’t really have any nausea but did feel a little dizzy from time to time. Nothing that freaked me out though.

Afterward we were all sweaty smiles!

IMAG1135

Peggymemarjan yoga

Afterward, I decided I need a better system for all of my stuff

Bags yoga

Somehow I managed to carry all of that and we headed out into the pretty lobby…

Yoga inside

to find Peggy’s husband Adam. Look there he is!!

Adam lobby yoga

On my drive home, my jaw started hurting something fierce. This happened to me after my first triathlon as well. I think I do some serious clenching when I get stressed or really focused. Not sure if I can do something to stop that from happening b/c man it does hurt. Doesn’t stick around for long, but still.

Overall, I really did enjoy the experience and I am looking forward to my remaining four sessions. Thank you Peggy and Marjan for convincing me to go already and for being a great support system for me in my new yoga adventure!!

Have you ever done Bikram? What was your experience like? 

13 responses

    • LOL! I think you should DEF try it!! Just the experience of being in a room that hot for 90 minutes is worth experiencing at least once in your life! The more I have thought about it last night and this morning, the more I feel like I enjoyed it and can’t wait to go back!

  1. I tried to find a blog post where I wrote about BY, but I guess I didn’t, must’ve blocked it out. I consider BY to be similar to labor. The whole time I just wanted it to end, and I mostly forgot the pain. Oh and at the end you get something awesome. Like a popsicle. Or a baby:) Glad you liked it. I really enjoyed warm and gentle yoga. Less hot and more gentle.

  2. After a while I got to where I loved it. What was amazing to me is my cravings for sugar went way down and I began craving vegetables! And I always wore cotton running pants to class cause my legs/hands were too slippery to hold otherwise. Plus I couldn’t stand the feeling of sweat dripping down my legs. Eewww….. 😉

    • that is interesting about the cravings!! Good tip on the pants. I was worried about wearing something long b/c of the heat but everything is so slippery, that might work. The sweat dripping is certainly an acquired “feel”. I can’t stand the dripping from my upper lip…blech

    • Lol…hot tubs. I love hot tubs!! I guess I really just love any sort of hot water, even if it is my own sweat. 😉
      Yes the expensive-ness is a concern, I think I would only do it if I had a deal. And the 90 minutes is a little long I agree. 60 min would be perfect.

  3. Reading your Yoga experience was great LAUGH therapy for me. I love you for being so UP for stuff like this and treating us to the story. Chances are really good that I will never join you and your friends at what sounds like a huge sweat lodge, but I am looking forward to ongoing reports. (Can you hear me cheering you on, doing what I do best (being maybe your biggest fan!)

    By the way, I think your cousin Rob had an experience similar to yours that he didn’t much enjoy. The story was pretty funny…

  4. Pingback: Bikram aftermath and pot roast | eat PRAY tri

  5. Ah! Way to go on finishing your first class!!! I have been doing Hot Yoga Inc since January, and even though it took 5 classes to decide if I liked it or not, I am now a huge fan! It’s been incredibly helpful in all my other aspects of fitness, and made me (a little) less of an anxious/stressed freaker outer.

    Keep us posted! And yes, “the lying down” pose is tops.

  6. Pingback: Yogurtland fail, golf win and GUACAMOLE | eat PRAY tri

Leave a Reply

