Bikram aftermath and pot roast

I woke up at five this morning for two reasons:

1) I had a pounding headace

2) I felt like the Sahara desert had invaded my body

Even though I hydrated like crazy last night after I got home, my body apparently is just not used to sweating that much. I got up, peed (I know, TMI) and then drank about 32 oz of water. I knew the headache would go away once I re-hydrated (and it did.)

I went back to sleep and then got up around 6:30 and was feeling much better. I got ready and headed into work and stopped for a perfect oatmeal. Wanna know why it’s perfect?

IMAG1140

B/c it fits perfectly on top of my coffee mug! So when I am making my way from my car to elevator #1, heavy door #1 and then and elevator #2, I can balance it perfectly on top and still have one hand free to deal with all the badge-ing in to to the doors and elevators. Perfect indeed.

Throughout the day, my neck and hamstrings became progressively more sore. I understand my hamstrings since we did quite a bit of bending over, but not sure about the neck. Maybe from holding my hands above my head for long periods of time? Or from putting my body in all sorts of poses it hasn’t really ever been in before? No it couldn’t be that. I must have slept wrong. 🙂

DINNER:

I decided to get crazy and make a pot roast in the slow cooker tonight. I looked up a few different recipes on various websites and basically settled on this:

around 2-3 lb pot roast (give or take)
1 can cream of mushroom and garlic soup
1 1/2 can of water (I just used the soup can)

leave in slow cooker all day on low

I had NO IDEA how this would come out b/c I have never made a piece of meat like this before.  I was afraid the top was going to get all dried out. Alas, I was wrong. I know, its shocking, but it does happen from time to time.

When I got home I threw some carrots and potatoes in the juice and let them sit in there until Paul came home. Then I blanched some asparagus and made gravy out of the juice. I heard Martha Stewart is interested in interviewing me about my domestic goddess-ness, I’m not sure if I will accept or not.

IMAG1142

I like my asparagus with a smidge of butter and some garlic salt. We actually use garlic salt a LOT, but you couldn’t tell from this container

IMAG1144

I’m pretty sure we got this right about when we got married. One of our first Costco trips. So that would be about 9 months ago. Even though we use it all the time, it still obviously isn’t depleting very fast. At this rate we will have it for at least another 5 years. That could be a problem based on the expiration date.

IMAG1145

Then I noticed the nutrition facts and it made me LOL. ALL sodium. Duh, its garlic SALT dummy.

IMAG1146

I chose NOT to run today b/c of my sore-ness and the fact that I pretty much can’t move my neck. BUT I have 4-5 miles planned for tomorrow. FIVE WHOLE MILES!! Not sure how that will go. For some reason I am interested in torturing myself this week.

3 responses

  1. Wow, very impressive dinner! It looks like something straight out of Martha’s magazine! 😉 I want to make a pot roast in the slow cooker b/c I think they’re delicious, but Brandon is anti-pot roast. I think it’s because his mom’s pot roast was dry when he was growing up (shhh … don’t tell her I said that!)! 😉

  2. Pingback: Yogurtland fail, golf win and GUACAMOLE | eat PRAY tri

Leave a Reply

